AeroGarden tips

Fisher's Mom

Mother Superior
Super Site Supporter
I found an AeroGarden at a yard sale yesterday for $10. I went online and printed the manual, so now I'm going to buy the seed pods. I was thinking about cherry tomatoes and/or basil.

Does anyone have one of these? (I think JoeC mentioned having one.) Are some things easier to grow than others? I am a complete novice with a brown thumb so any tips or hints would be greatly appreciated.

buckytom

Grill Master
i have one, but it's still in it's box now for 2 years. i haven't had time to mess around with it.

i do know that, depending on it's use, you'll need to replace the lamps.

oh, when you find out, lemme know how the cannabis seeds do in it...

joec

Gold Site Supporter
Yes I have two of them. I grow herbs such as basil (several kinds), flat lief parsley, thyme, tarragon, dill, marjoram, oregano, and chives year around in mine. Easy to setup and use being about fool proof as you can get. No major tips just follow the instructions is all.

I've never tried the pepper or tomatos but might one of these years but those things I grow in pots in my garden window as well as keep both of my Aero Gardens there. I also grow cat nip for protection to keep my cats from munching on the herbs, they go straight to the cat nip leaving the other stuff alone.

Fisher's Mom

Mother Superior
Super Site Supporter
Thanks, Joe. I hadn't seen the catnip pods but that's a great tip because my cats will definitely be interested in the aerogarden.

BT, I'll get back with you on the other thing.

joec

Gold Site Supporter
Oh I grow the cat nip in a pot beside it as I've never seen pods for it at all. At any rate the cats go for it and ignore the rest. As a side note they are a lot of fun once they drug up on the stuff too. My cats all love to sleep during the day in the garden window also.

Fisher's Mom

Mother Superior
Super Site Supporter