Canning and curing?

QSis

Grill Master
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Well, cga, I've done a little canning, but am certainly no expert.

I used to make red pepper relish every year for my brother.

And some crabapple jelly (have REALLY annoying crabapple tree in front of my condo) and some jardinière.

Here are photos of the latter two.

I don't have a pressure canner and am leery of canning things other than jelly or things with vinegar.

Do you have advice?

Lee

Crabapple Jelly

Crabapple jelly 2007.JPG

Jardiniere

Jardiniere.JPG

chilefarmer

I can lots of things, using both water bath and pressure canner. Including meat and fish. I also cure my own bacon and make my own sausage. Good stuff. And kinda fun. Yep I have made some things that makes me say, naw, not doing that one again. CF

joec

Gold Site Supporter
I am just getting into it for the first time. I have a 10 qt pressure cooker that will work and 21 quart water caner with all the tools that I recently got from Chef's. As for bottles I have several cases of various sizes and enough new tops to do them all 3 times over.

Mountain man

Entree Cook
Gold Site Supporter
I did full butchering for years and made sauasage and cured my own hams and bacons as well as deer and beef jerky. Canned a lot but with just 2 of us we have shifted more to freezing since we got the vac sealer. The heavy work is almost too much for me and she throws a fit so I have a local butcher that does my beef and hogs now. If my buddy down in Pa. does hogs I still go down and help him. The sausage we make is the best and I love it.

joec

Gold Site Supporter