crispy seaweed

Guts

Crispy seaweed​

2 1/4 pounds bok choy
peanut oil for deep frying (about 3 1/2 cups)
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 cup toasted pine nuts

Okay, this is not seaweed but a mock version of fried seaweed. Which I have been served at restaurants before. It kind of looks like the green stuff in Easter baskets, it's very light in texture and the sugar and salt along with the pine nuts is really an interesting combination. I did not make this in my wok , but used my fryer. And I have never used savory cabbage before. In fact this was the first time I have made this. I liked it very well and reminded me of the time I had it in the restaurant, they must have used bok choy also.my fryer was set at 350°F and cooked this amount for 30 seconds. I definitely will be making this again!

Rinse the bok choy leaves under cold running water, then pat dry thoroughly with absorbent paper towels.
Roll each bok choy leave up then sliced through, then lay so that the leaves are finally shredded.

Heat the oil in a large wok (or use a deep fryer as I did.) Add the shredded leaves and fry for about 30 seconds or until they are shriveled up and become crispy. You may need to do this amount in four batches.
Remove the crispy seaweed from the walk with a slotted spoon and set aside to drain on absorbent paper towels.
Transfer the crispy seaweed to a large bowl and toss with the salt, sugar and pine nuts. Serve immediately.
Variation: use savory cabbage instead of bok choy if it is unavailable making sure that the leaves are well dried before frying !

This recipe serves 4

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 181

QSis

Grill Master
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
This is BRILLIANT, Guts!

I have all the stuff for it, too!

Do you serve it as a side, a salad, a snack or what?

Lee

Guts