Our Very Best Dishes

SilverSage

Resident Crone
If you wanted to really impress someone special (The Queen, Julia Child, your Mother-in-law, someone else), what would you cook? :encore:

Soup to nuts. Our very best, most impressive meal. Tell us about it. :chef:

Have you ever made any of the dishes and posted it here before? Link it if you have. Post pics if you have them. If not, just describe what you'd make.

I can't wait to see everyone's very best menus! :cooking:

Deelady

Oh Lord.....I can't imagine anything of mine being served to anyone even remotely like them!! Not saying I don't believe I'm a good cook but my cooking style doesn't have nearly enough skills for anyone with a "refined palate".
You on the other hand I can imagine putting out quite the feast! ;)

Mama

Queen of Cornbread
Site Supporter
I'm the same way. I'm just a down home cook. I try to make everything look and taste good but I'm no chef. I think that whomever I cooked for would enjoy the food...at least I would hope so....I just don't think that they would be all that "impressed".

Nancy-MD

I'd have to ditto the above answers. Everyday cooking is what I do and I'm happy not to have to impress anyone with a fancy dinner. That's what good restaurants are for! :biggrin:

But if I did want to make a good impression on someone, I would go for a beef filet since I only make those for very special occasions and holidays like Christmas. And have a variety of good side dishes and veggies to go along with it.

I know that's not the response you're looking for, but I'm just not into that fancy cooking.

Can't wait to see what others will prepare though!

JoeV

Dough Boy
Site Supporter
I have to share a true story in this regard. My good friend Warren in Tulahoma, Tennessee has a weekly meal routine where Friday's evening meal is always red beans and rice. It didn't matter what his wife served the other 6 days of the week, but Friday was ALWAYS red beans and rice.