Advice on an herb garden

smoke king

Banned
Hey everyone, due to some re-arranging of my yard, I ended up with about 30 square feet of space that I'd like to use for an herb garden. I've never so much as attempted to grow herbs, so I am a novice in every sense of the word.

Do any particular herbs avail themselves to amateurs as opposed to others? How much room do they need? I'm sure feeding/fertilization is similar to the regular garden, so I'll rely on the plant food mfrs instruction.

I guess I'm thinking Rosemary, Thyme etc, but I'm open to suggestions. I'd love to have fresh cilantro, chives, parsely etc at my disposal, but have no idea if they are even feasible for me. The growing season here in Nebraska runs from now until about September/October.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!!

Fisher's Mom

Mother Superior
Super Site Supporter
I have never attempted to grow anything either so I'll be following this thread closely, too, SK.

I know a little about "herbs".....

suziquzie

BASIL!!!!!! oh yeah, and BASIL!!!!
:)
Sattie will tell ya....
I think herbs are about the easiest thing to grow.... and LOTS of them will come back every year.
Fresh sage is great..... thyme, oregano, chives, rosemary all come back with little care.

QSis

Grill Master
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Suzi's suggestions are great, SK. I grow all of the things she mentioned, plus marjoram and spearmint (for lamb).

I don't care for cilantro or lavender, so I skip those.

Two pieces of advice to start with: first BUY PLANTS!! It takes too long for herb seeds to grow into big plants.

Second, if you decide to grow spearmint or peppermint, plant it in a good-sized pot, or it will spread all over the place.

You will LOVE having fresh herbs at your fingertips this summer!

Lee

I live on a ledge, so my entire garden is in containers. Works very well for me!

herbsearlyib8.jpg

pictureto1004075it0.jpg

homecook