Learning how to Dehydrate

Nica

Here are a few more pictures of potatoes and yellow squash I'm getting ready to dehydrate. I've found out that (I'm new at this) by blanching the potatoes before dehydrating, they don't loose their color after drying.

I started out just dehydrating the squash without blanching, but now I do blanch some of it and just freeze it. What I don't blanch I just put in my makeshift dehydrator and then bag it when it's 100% dry. I still put these bags in the freezer.

OBTW, the cheap wine keeps the flies off the squash too!

I'm going to make my first attempt at pickling some of the cucumbers. We'll see how that goes. We have given a bunch away, but I've gotta do something, their running out our ears.

My make shift dehydrater has gone thru a couple modifications. I'll get some pictures and post later.

Boy do I love to garden!

Attachments

• Drying white potatoes (600 x 399).jpg
    Drying white potatoes (600 x 399).jpg
    56.7 KB · Views: 273
  • Sliced squash (600 x 399).jpg
    Sliced squash (600 x 399).jpg
    73.3 KB · Views: 110
  • Ready to be blanched (600 x 399).jpg
    Ready to be blanched (600 x 399).jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 436
  • Washed Cucumbers(640 x 480).jpg
    Washed Cucumbers(640 x 480).jpg
    86 KB · Views: 104

Doc

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Very interesting Nica. I look forward to more on this as you work through the process. :thumb:

Deadly Sushi

Formerly The Giant Mojito
Do you pick that from your garden? has to be more like a farm. Those are a lot of vegies and they are beautiful too.

Nica

My attempt at building a dehydrater

Very interesting Nica. I look forward to more on this as you work through the process. :thumb: