Net Cooking Talk




Go Back   Net Cooking Talk > Food Events , Dining Out, Electronics and NCT Forum Info > Computer / TV's / Electronic Devices Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:56 PM
ChowderMan ChowderMan is offline
Pizza Chef
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 9
Thanked 904 Times in 549 Posts
ChowderMan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountain man View Post
So, how do you get it to stop dimming the dang screen and asking if you really want to run a program? If I change the security setting it won't let me do much at all even though I am administrator.
which version?

dimming? turning off? the screen -
Control Panel/power options
but which however name changes thru versions, check also Display Properties

>stop asking
highly highly version dependent, but in XP & Vista, Control Panel, turn off UAC (User Account Control)

yeah yeah yeah. UAC is the greatest thing since the completion of the pyramids, but regrets to say it is completely ineffective at stopping the bad guys. stops you, doesn't stop them.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-25-2014, 08:57 PM
Adillo303's Avatar
Adillo303 Adillo303 is offline
*****

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7,403
Thanks: 100
Thanked 394 Times in 278 Posts
Adillo303 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountain man View Post
So, how do you get it to stop dimming the dang screen and asking if you really want to run a program? If I change the security setting it won't let me do much at all even though I am administrator.
Mountain Man

For dimming the screen fo to the control Panel open power settings and you can set how longto wait to dim the screen or if it will dim at all.

For asking you if you want to run something go to the control panel > User accounts > manage User Account Control settings and move the slider to the lowest level.

Hope this helps.
__________________
I hope I can be as good a person as my dog thinks I am.

My mother always told me - "You can catch more flies with sugar than you can with vinegar."
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-25-2014, 09:00 PM
Adillo303's Avatar
Adillo303 Adillo303 is offline
*****

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7,403
Thanks: 100
Thanked 394 Times in 278 Posts
Adillo303 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

Peep - Win 2.1 was before any of those

Chowder - Remember it well. Yes, it was a trip and a half. Of course, at that time, at least for me, windows was something I just launched if I was bored and wanted to crash and reboot. I could do everything I wanted in DOS.

While we are in memory lane, how about CPM and OS/2
__________________
I hope I can be as good a person as my dog thinks I am.

My mother always told me - "You can catch more flies with sugar than you can with vinegar."
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-25-2014, 09:02 PM
Adillo303's Avatar
Adillo303 Adillo303 is offline
*****

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7,403
Thanks: 100
Thanked 394 Times in 278 Posts
Adillo303 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

History lesson.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History...rosoft_Windows
__________________
I hope I can be as good a person as my dog thinks I am.

My mother always told me - "You can catch more flies with sugar than you can with vinegar."
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-25-2014, 09:34 PM
Shermie's Avatar
Shermie Shermie is offline
Grill Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brighton, MA.
Posts: 3,764
Thanks: 774
Thanked 271 Times in 219 Posts
Shermie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

Well, you guys can all have your Windows 8. I'll wait and see what the next version will be like. I know that there are tons of people who don't like the OS.
__________________
I am the King of Kitchen Toys!!!!!!



~Shermie.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-26-2014, 12:47 AM
Mountain man's Avatar
Mountain man Mountain man is offline
Entree Cook
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: in the hills
Posts: 844
Thanks: 25
Thanked 107 Times in 84 Posts
Mountain man is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

Thanks for the tips. I was doing the user account thing but had not rebooted to lock the setting. Noticed when I download a pic it shows a thumbnail in the icon. Where did they put the print screen? When I press that on my keyboard I get nothing. I need a text macro for my email addy as well. You forget how many little things you had tweaked over the years on a PC.
__________________
It is done when the smoke makes it to the dining room.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-26-2014, 07:05 AM
Adillo303's Avatar
Adillo303 Adillo303 is offline
*****

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7,403
Thanks: 100
Thanked 394 Times in 278 Posts
Adillo303 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

Sherman - Windows 8, or any other version for that matter, is not mine. It simply is what is. If 7 works for you enjoy.

Please do not stay with XP, for your Own sake.
__________________
I hope I can be as good a person as my dog thinks I am.

My mother always told me - "You can catch more flies with sugar than you can with vinegar."
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-26-2014, 07:16 AM
Adillo303's Avatar
Adillo303 Adillo303 is offline
*****

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7,403
Thanks: 100
Thanked 394 Times in 278 Posts
Adillo303 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

Quote:
Noticed when I download a pic it shows a thumbnail in the icon. Where did they put the print screen?
If that is in Windows explorer, click "view" and you can change how the files are displayed.

Print Screen - I haven't seen that one, it works for me. Try Ctrl Prt-Screen or Shift Prt-Screen.

I am not familiar with the term "text macro". Do you mean a signature line that goes at the bottom of you emails?
__________________
I hope I can be as good a person as my dog thinks I am.

My mother always told me - "You can catch more flies with sugar than you can with vinegar."
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-26-2014, 09:09 AM
Doc's Avatar
Doc Doc is offline
Chief Bottle Washer / Admin

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 9,210
Thanks: 2,232
Thanked 618 Times in 433 Posts
Doc is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

Here is what I found on creating a Win 8 macro for your email addy.


How do I create macros in Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Center?

A macro is a sequence of events (such as keystrokes, mouse clicks, and delays) that can be played back to help with performing repetitive tasks. A macro can also be used to replay sequences that are long or difficult to run. You can use the Macro Repeat feature to play and repeat a macro continuously, and then stop it at any time. You can also create a split macro to separate a key press from a key release.

Caution
Do not save passwords or other sensitive information in macros.
Create a macro


Click the button or key you want to configure to run the macro.
If you have already created macros, a list will display under the Macro command. Click the one you want to assign to the button or key.
If you have not created any macros, click Not yet assigned and then click Create a new macro.
The Macro Editor displays.
In the File Name box, type a name for your macro.
Click the Editor box, and enter your macro. Most keystrokes can be typed in directly with your keyboard.
Click Back to save the macro and return to the previous screen.

Insert special keys in your macro

You can insert special keys for events such as mouse clicks, time delays between actions, mouse sensitivity settings, and keystrokes reserved by the Macro Editor, such as, BACKSPACE, TAB, and the arrow keys. When the F Lock light is Off, alternate functions work (Help, Undo, and so on). To insert a special key, click Insert Special Keys, and then:

To add:


Do this:

Keys reserved by the Macro Editor


Select the key you want, for example: BACKSPACE, TAB, and the arrow keys.

Mouse clicks


Select the mouse button you want for example: Mouse Button 3.
Note
During playback, the macro will play back the mouse click (example: Mouse Button 3), not the action otherwise assigned to it (example: Magnify or Instant Viewer).

Delay


Select a time delay key. A clock icon appears with a default delay of 10 milliseconds (1000 milliseconds = 1 second).
Use the arrows on the icon to increase or decrease the time delay. The maximum delay is 999,999 milliseconds (approximately 16.6 minutes).

Mouse sensitivity (DPI On-the-fly)


If your mouse has adjustable mouse sensitivity buttons, select a mouse sensitivity button, (example: DPI Button 3).
Create a split macro to separate a key press from a key release

In the Editor, right-click the event, click Split, and then add new events. Your new events appear between the key press and the key release.

Repeat a macro

Click Repeat.

Notes

Macro Repeat does not support switching applications. For example, if you open your Web browser while a macro is repeating in a game, the macro stops repeating. Likewise, if you include a command in a macro to switch to a different application, Macro Repeat does not take effect, and the macro runs once only.
If you press a button assigned to start a repeating macro and then press a button assigned to a different macro, the repeating macro stops.
A repeating macro does not include a time delay at the end of a sequence. If you want to add a delay, see Insert special keys in your macro.
When a repeating macro starts, the software displays a message to notify you. However, this message will be visible only when games are not in full-screen mode.

Edit a macro

Click the button or key you’ve configured to run the macro.
From the list of macros display under Macro, select the one you want to edit.
Click Edit to open the Editor.
Make the changes you want.
Click Back to save the macro and return to the previous screen.

Play a macro

Press the button or key assigned to play the macro.

Cancel a macro during playback

Press the button or key assigned to the macro again, or start another macro.

Toggle a repeating macro

After you enable Macro Repeat for a macro, press the key assigned to the macro to start it.
Press the key again to stop the macro from repeating.
Or, to stop the repeating macro and start another macro, press the button or key assigned to the other macro.

Use “press and hold” for a repeating macro

After you enable Macro Repeat for a macro, press and hold the key assigned to the macro to start it.
Release the key to stop the macro from repeating.

Clear as mud?
__________________
Scott me up Beamy.

Other Fun Forums:
Forums Forums .com +++ Net Tractor Talk Forums +++ Net Pet Talk Forums +++
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc For This Useful Post:
Adillo303  (02-26-2014)
  #35  
Old 02-26-2014, 09:22 AM
Adillo303's Avatar
Adillo303 Adillo303 is offline
*****

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7,403
Thanks: 100
Thanked 394 Times in 278 Posts
Adillo303 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

Way cool - Thank You
__________________
I hope I can be as good a person as my dog thinks I am.

My mother always told me - "You can catch more flies with sugar than you can with vinegar."
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-26-2014, 01:12 PM
ChowderMan ChowderMan is offline
Pizza Chef
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 9
Thanked 904 Times in 549 Posts
ChowderMan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: New computer, new Windows

looks like user error strikes again - thought I posted this....

ref Print Screen

the way print screen changed. used to send immediately/directly to the printer - not no more.

"To copy/capture the current window (me: aka the 'active' window), hold down ALT + Print Scrn at the same time. To capture the entire screen, just press Print Scrn."

After you've "copied" the screen you have to "paste" it into something else - Word, photo editor, etc.

see
http://www.entity.cc/ICONS/print-screen.php
for all the dirty details.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who Uses Windows Live Mail? Shermie Computer / TV's / Electronic Devices Forum 1 10-09-2010 08:29 PM
Windows 7? CaliforniaCook Computer / TV's / Electronic Devices Forum 24 10-03-2010 04:56 PM
Windows 7 pricing announced Keltin Computer / TV's / Electronic Devices Forum 9 10-15-2009 04:13 PM
Virtual XP on Windows 7 Deadly Sushi Computer / TV's / Electronic Devices Forum 2 06-29-2009 01:26 PM
Replacement windows buzzard767 Jokes, Funny Stories, Pictures & Videos Forum 6 03-15-2009 09:34 PM




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright NetCookingTalk.com
Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design