What's up with my spuds?

chowhound

OK. I'm not a professional chef, but I've seen a lot of spuds and never saw any that looked like this after I cut them open. Perfectly perfect on the outside, but rotting (?) on the inside. I cut into two of these russets, that I just happened to buy yesterday in a 5lb bag, and this is what I found.
BTW, I have decided not to have homefries tonight :yuk:
Take 'em back?

Attachments

• spud1.jpg
    spud1.jpg
    48.7 KB · Views: 126
  • spud2.jpg
    spud2.jpg
    65.4 KB · Views: 121

TexasGirl

The Invisible
Super Site Supporter
Hmm, I would take them back, but, I don't know much about them myself. I just get nervous about strange things.

Take them back by all means. I am usually too scattered to think of it. The last couple of times I have just told them, and have gotten credit for it. (Why should I go lugging them BACK ??) So far they are agreeable. If it is an emergency, you can use the rest of it if you get back from the bad part a ways. Not that you should ever have to do that, but it can be done if it is an emergency.

chowhound

Thanks. I'm curious still as to what is wrong with them. I've used some old potatoes and never had any that were as firm and seemingly healthy as these, that were bad in the center. Figures I just start shopping at my little town store again and this is what I run into. Befor ethat it was rank meats and moldy packaged cheese (Kraft). What the hell are they doing over there?

chowhound

Thanks. It seems with the other problems I've run into here, they must do a lot of things improperly, or purchase from vendors who do.

babe

i have found that if they are rotten on the inside, it makes the rest takes funky. i would not use them, and yes i would take them back.

Keltin

Gold Site Supporter
It looks like “Internal Brown Spot” or IBS. Also called Internal Heat Necrosis or Brown Center.