ZwiebelShroomChops

ChowderMan

Pizza Chef
Super Site Supporter
everyone's into pork chops today - by coincidence yesterday I did my chops&kraut standard but substituted pork tenderloin. trimmed out the tenderloin, split it in half, then portioned. the standard dish can be tricky if you don't wind up with juicy/tender pork chops - the tenderloin was super! cut it with a fork....

but here's the original, don't think I posted it here....

ZwiebelShroomChops

it's hard to think that this is an "original" dish - somebody likely did this a thousand years ago. but I've been working the recipe/technique since the mid 1980's - and it one of those things: When was the last time anyone requested a heavy on the sauerkraut dish?.....

Zweibel = German for onion
Shroom - aka mushrooms
Chops - in this case pork, bone in, thick cut

big pix: pork chops topped with bacon/onion/mushroom, buried in sauerkraut, braised (covered) in beer.

there's nothing particularly difficult - but this is a time consuming prep - and rushing it can lead to burnt not-so-good-stuff. allow two hrs prep + 1.5-2 hrs bake. it reheats extremely well; more than once I've intentionally done it "a day ahead" for overnight-in-the-fridge flavor development....

recipe for 2-3 chops.

de-package, salt & pepper the chops, allow to stand at room temp for remainder of prep.
use thick chops - thin ones over cook.
use bone-in for max flavor.
(braising makes for a no-problem on-the-bone situation; the meat pulls cleanly away with a fork.)

drain one pound package of sauerkraut; discard juice.

dice and fry crips 4 strips of bacon; drain, set aside;

save an olive tree and use the bacon drippings to:
sweat down large onion sliced in half-circles.
add 4-6 med/large sliced mushrooms; cremeni is my favorite for the earthy flavor.
add a bit of (olice oil) as needed; the mushrooms soak up the oil.....
lightly salt the onions to draw out the moisture; lightly salt the mushrooms for same reason.