Meat smoking newbie

jj1252

I am new to smoking meats - I've never done it before.

What kind of equipment do you use? What are your top 5-10 tips on smoking your own meats.

QSis

Grill Master
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
JJ, are you referring to smoke-cooking meat, low and slow, using wood or charcoal for fuel. Also known as "barbecue". Like chicken, ribs, pulled pork?

Or do you mean cold-smoking, which is done at a lower temperature, typically with sausages, salmon, and cheese.

If it's the former, check out our subforum on outdoor cooking. Several of us active members are pretty good at that.

Lee

Cooksie

Site Supporter
I'm going to assume this: "are you referring to smoke-cooking meat, low and slow, using wood or charcoal for fuel. Also known as "barbecue". Like chicken, ribs, pulled pork?" If not, you can ignore :).

I still consider myself a newbie to smoking meats. Most of what I learned, I learned on here and by reading other bbq forums. I'll just tell you some of the things that were important for my learning curve.

If your pit has one of those built in thermometers, don't just blindly trust it. Mine was way off. I bought one of those digital probe thermometers, worth every penny.

Patience Grasshopper - resist the urge to lift the lid every 30 minutes.

I have better luck getting a smoke ring if I take the meat directly from the refrigerator to put it on the pit.

Most everyone disagrees with me on this one :mrgreen:, so take it or leave it...I soak my wood chips.

LADawg

I use charcoal for the heat and wood for the smoke. Be sure to use wood CHUNKS and not wood CHKIPS. the chips will burn rather quickly and not produce the smoke needed.
I would start with something simple. Maybe a couple of whole chickens.

Johnny West

I use charcoal for the heat and wood for the smoke. Be sure to use wood CHUNKS and not wood CHKIPS. the chips will burn rather quickly and not produce the smoke needed.